DTX1 with Portsdown software

Help and support for the BATC DTX1 ATV digital encoder and modulator system
g8lce
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

DTX1 with Portsdown software

Postby g8lce » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:29 pm

Hi everyone with a DTX1 and TS Dock. Thanks to the help of G8GKQ (he changed some of the options on his new release of the Portsdown software ) I have the DTX1 working with the Portsdown software.
The software works from the Windows 10 64bit computer using Putty
vMix running on the Windows PC has the external feed pushed to the Raspberry Pi using Video Transport Stream to Portsdown.
Using a touchscreen and the HDMI port can be used (config.txt has to be appended.
There were a few problems but overall the results were good.
Problems.
1) The DTX1 must be set to preset 3 (you also need the updated firmware post January 2016)
2) The DTX1 will transmit the SR it is set to not the one the Software says - so make sure you match the two. Setting the RPi to 2000kS and the DTX1 to 333kS will TX at 333kS and work but that can cause confusion apart from any other problems.
3)The advanced menu on the DTX1 lets you set the video for the TS Stream 2 to H264 but this does not mean that. The tx is what the RPi is set to.
4)The HDMI touchscreen may not be supported in all modes but this screen here will be https://www.element14.com/community/doc ... en-display according to G8GKQ. However it works for now. You have to add these lines to the end of the config.txt in the RPi root directory:
max_usb_current=1
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=1
hdmi_mode=87
hdmi_cvt 1024 600 60 6 0 0 0
hdmi_drive=1

5)The screen takes power from the RPi usb so when using a EasyCAP dongle and RTL.SDR these need to be via a powered usb hub it would appear.
6) With all the options you will be tempted to try them. When your MiniTioune 0.6d does not decode the video make sure it is in the same mode you are txing. H264 mode will not see Mpeg2 and visa versa!
Some pictures are included showing the setup and rxed pictures.
DSC05284.JPG
DSC05284.JPG (225.3 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Capture 08.JPG
Capture 08.JPG (234.46 KiB) Viewed 418 times
Capture 07.JPG
Capture 07.JPG (245.83 KiB) Viewed 418 times



I will be changing to the new screen soon and update then.

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: DTX1 with Portsdown software

Postby g8lce » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:32 pm

Some more pictures
DSC05286.JPG
DSC05286.JPG (250.05 KiB) Viewed 417 times
DSC05285.JPG
DSC05285.JPG (296.23 KiB) Viewed 417 times
DSC05288.JPG
DSC05288.JPG (284.69 KiB) Viewed 417 times


Hope this helps

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: DTX1 with Portsdown software

Postby g8lce » Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:57 pm

The software can now be loaded from a previous setup using the update option ( System System Setup > Update Check for Updated rpidatv Software )
Software version 201710081 works with DTX1 but no DTX1 button yet. Coming soon Dave, G8GKQ has said.
I now also have a https://www.element14.com/community/doc ... en-display as well as the previously mentioned HDMI touchscreen. This one works with the DTX1 as well but all you have to do to make it work is select System System Setup > Display Display type> Tontec35 Tontec 3.5 inches. This works even though it is a 7 inch screen.
The only way to get the DTX1 mode is from the console mode but once selected the mode is remembered and you can set the software to autostart from touch screen by selecting System System Setup > Autostart Automatic startup > Display_boot Boot-up to Touchscreen Display. You can then reboot and work from the touchscreen.

Comparing the two screens, the HDMI one has a better viewing angle and is higher resolution but the mounting of it is not as sturdy.

Martin G8LCE

g8lce
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: DTX1 with Portsdown software

Postby g8lce » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:08 pm

Using the DTX1 with a RPI means that you need a multiway cable linking the two parts. I want to work it mobile so off 12 volts. The answer to that was to put a 12 volt to 5.1 volt (although it is adjustable) converter in the DTX1 case and feed the RPi up the ribbon cable. This does mean that some protection is lost from the RPi but it is very simple to set up the system without the extra wire/socket. The pins used are 2&4 for the 5.1 volts and 6 & 14 for the ground. The 12 volts comes from the diode near the input socket. If you have put the front on your DTX1 then this mod can be done just by taking the rear panel off. You can also fit the TS Dock from there. If you think about doing this please check and doudle check the wiring. Also I have run the setup for hours without overheating but it is best to run it open and check your converter does not overheat. Remember to insulat it. I used black tape.
DSC06645.JPG
DSC06645.JPG (309.53 KiB) Viewed 187 times
DSC06728.JPG
DSC06728.JPG (246.7 KiB) Viewed 187 times
12 to 5 volts.jpg
12 to 5 volts.jpg (189.62 KiB) Viewed 187 times

g8lce
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2015 10:26 am

Re: DTX1 with Portsdown software

Postby g8lce » Sun Dec 03, 2017 2:55 pm

The setup with the 12v to 5v feed to the RPi from the DTX1 has been soak testing now for more than 24 hours. The current taken by my 7inch HDMI screen from the RPi makes it very close to the limit of this convertor. I do get the odd low volts warning after a few hours so a bigger 12v to 5.1v convertor may be needed in this setup.....


Return to “BATC DTX1”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests