DigiLite bugs.

User avatar
ON4AAH
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Wetteren Belgium JO11WA41PV
Contact:

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby ON4AAH » Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:59 pm

Hello,

Today a new PIC received, after power on and program sr4167, same problem, clock frequency on pin 25 stays on 2.000Mhz.
All the other sr settings from 1000 to 8000 no problem only by a settings sr4167 no reset on the PIC, he stay on last frequency.

73's ON4AAH

G4EWJ
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Wirral

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby G4EWJ » Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:30 pm

Is the dsPIC from BATC or is it one you have programmed yourself?

What does the DigiLite LED do when you try to set it to SR4167? Normally it flashes 2 times to indicate that it is waiting for data. If it flashes 3 times, it means that it has received a symbol rate that it does not understand.

Try this:

Stop DL Transmit.

With Hyperterminal or another terminal program, open a connection to the CONTROL com port at 57600,n,8,1,noflow.

Upper / lower case does not matter. Commands are not echoed until you hit ENTER.

Type in A:? and hit ENTER

You should see a status line like:
[A:100 Version = 1.40, MIPS = 40.000, SR = 2000.000kS/s, FEC = 1/2]

Type in A:SRF4167,0 and hit ENTER. The SR should have changed as below.

[A:105 Restarting due to parameter change]
[A:100 Version = 1.40, MIPS = 41.667, SR = 4166.667kS/s, FEC = 0]
[A:101 Initialisation complete]
[A:102 Waiting for 13.5kB FIFO to fill up]

If the symbol rate typed (e.g. 5555) is not known, then you will get the following and the LED should flash 3 times.

A:SRF5555,0
[A:106 invalid symbol rate or FEC]

Let me know what you get.

Brian

User avatar
ON4AAH
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Wetteren Belgium JO11WA41PV
Contact:

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby ON4AAH » Mon Mar 12, 2012 8:06 pm

Hello Brian,

Thanks for the answer, i use the programmed PIC from BATC.

DL flash 2 times
I started the recording on 3060 bitrate.
I started DL on sr4167 bitrate 3060, flash 3 times.
I stopped DL and have hyperterminal started with your info:
results:

[A:100 Version = 1.40, MIPS = 40.000, SR = 2000.000kS/s, FEC = 1/2]
A:SRF4167,0
[A:105 Restarting due to parameter change]

[A:100 Version = 1.40, MIPS = 41.667, Symbolrate = 4166.667kS/s, FEC = 0]
[A:101 Initialisation complete
[A:102 Waiting for 13kB FIFO to fill up]
A:SRF5555,0
[A:106 Unrecognised symbolrate or FEC (5555-0)][/b]

I hope you me can help me with this problem.
73's ON4AAH
Last edited by ON4AAH on Mon Aug 07, 2017 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

G4EWJ
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Wirral

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby G4EWJ » Mon Mar 12, 2012 9:12 pm

Very strange. It understands SR4167 when you type it in directly, but not when DL Transmit sends it. It is as though DL Transmit is not sending A:SRF4167,1.

Try this:

On the DL Config screen, hold CTRL and hit U. A new box appears called 'User Symbol Rate Settings'.
Type 4167 into the new box.
Click SAVE.

Run again and see what happens.

Brian

User avatar
ON4AAH
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Wetteren Belgium JO11WA41PV
Contact:

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby ON4AAH » Tue Mar 13, 2012 10:59 am

Hello Brian,

I did the test with '' User Symbol Rate Settings ", sr 4167 and "Fec on PC is recommended", the clock frequency go to 4166.666Mhz on Pic and DL transmit with a sr 4167 now.
Perhaps a mistake in the preprogrammed channels on the DL transmit software i don't know.

I am happy, it works.

73's Brian and thanks for help

ON4AAH Albert
Last edited by ON4AAH on Wed May 30, 2012 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

G4EWJ
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Wirral

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby G4EWJ » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:35 pm

I would like to know what DL Transmit is sending to the control port. If you have 2 real com ports, perhaps you could connect them together and use one as the CONTROL port and see what comes out on the other.

This is the first case I have heard of where SR4167 does not work. The SR value that DL Transmit receives from DL Config is 4166.66666. DL Transmit should round this up and send A:SRF4167 to the control port. If it rounds down, then DL Transmit will send A:SRF4166, which the dsPIC does not understand.

Note that DL Transmit is now running at SR4167 but the dsPIC is running at SR4166.66666, so I would expect the AVAIL figure to increase slowly because data is being sent to the dsPIC slightly too fast.

The only other SR which is rounded up is 1667. Can you verify that you get the correct frequency with this setting and that you do not get the 3 flashes. You will have to send some data to make sure that the dsPIC receives the speed command.

You could also try 4166.66666 in the user symbol rate box and see what happens.

Brian

User avatar
ON4AAH
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 2:33 pm
Location: Wetteren Belgium JO11WA41PV
Contact:

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby ON4AAH » Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:44 pm

Answer:
viewtopic.php?f=71&t=1168

Thanks Brian, 73's ON4AAH

VK3CRG
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:51 pm

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby VK3CRG » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:46 pm

Using Digilite Transmit Software V2.5 (beta) and Windows XP

I've had an intermittent problem where the Transmit Program (in the DOS screen) will run for about 15 - 30 secs and then the screen refreshes (re-draws) and starts again, interrupting the stream and putting the Digilite off air for about 2 secs while the program refreshes.

It will do this over and over every 15 - 30 secs with the effect of putting you off air every 15 - 30 (approx) secs for a second or so and then back on. The WinTV program is running fine with no interruptions to recording the file.

However on rebooting the computer it usually wont do it again.

Peter VK3BFG also reports a similar thing happening at his shack with his computer, so it's not just my PC.

This PC is just used for Digilite so it shouldn't be a memory thing as I've been using it for other stuff before firing up digilite. I turn this PC on just to use Digilite.

Has anyone had this issue before?

73,

Craig VK3CRG

MN-tech
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:01 pm

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby MN-tech » Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:31 pm

It's been a a few years since I have seen a DigiLite run but I remember the problem. A buffer is being overrun so the system crashes and restarts. There is a way to display the system status and see it happen. I don't remember exactly what you change to fix it, you decrease something to limit the data sent to the DigiLite.

G4EWJ
Posts: 587
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 10:11 am
Location: Wirral

Re: DigiLite bugs.

Postby G4EWJ » Sun Mar 26, 2017 12:09 am

It's unlikely that your settings are wrong if it works normally after a reboot. As well as a data over run, it could be a data under run. The PC decides to do something so intensive that DL Transmit doesn't get enough processing time to send data to the hardware and the hardware complains that it has run out of data and causes a re-start of DL Transmit.

What are the conditions that cause it to go wrong after it's been working? Power down, first run of the day?

Is the PC connected to the internet? Does it update? Does XP actually update anymore? I don't run DL on XP anymore.

You could try replaying a previously recorded file when you expect it to go wrong and see if that's any different.

Could you make a video of it going wrong. That might show something.

Brian


Return to “DigiLite”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest